Telford Bridge & Moriston Falls
A picturesque spot and a sightseeing must for tourists passing by on the A82 the River Moriston and the historic stone bridge that spans the falls make for a stunning focal point in the heart of the village of Invermoriston. The stone bridge, designed by the great Scottish engineer Thomas Telford, was opened in 1813 and carried all traffic across this section of the river until the current bridge superceded it in 1933.
Both kayakers and salmon can often be seen leaping over and playing around in the white waters of the falls, especially on days when the hydro dam, which is located a few miles upstream, releases extra water to aid both salmon and kayakers in their converse journeys through the churning waters. Downstream from the road bridge The Summer House is an equally striking sight perched on the wooded cliff high above the bubbling river and the short walk through Falls Wood to this iconic landmark is a rewarding way to pass some time.